City Forum Building, 114 Madiba Street
Private Bag x 941 Pretoria 0001
Tel: (012)399 0000 Fax: (012)326 0408







Minister of Police

Mr Nathi Mthethwa


Date of Birth: 23 January 1967
Marital Status: Married
Other: Writing and Sports.

Current Positions

Minister of Police of the Republic of South Africa since 11 May 2009.
Member of Parliament since 2002.
Member of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the African National Congress (ANC).
Member of the ANC National Working Committee (NWC).
Active member of King Dingiswayo branch of the ANC in KZN.
Chairperson of the ANC Political Committee in KZN.

Academic Qualifications

Diploma in Community Development from University of Natal (Durban).
Mining Engineering Certificate from University of Johannesburg.
Certificate in Communications and Leadership from Rhodes University.

Career/Memberships/Positions/Other Activities

Chief Whip of the ANC.
Member of the Klaarwater Youth Organisation at the age of 15 in KZN (1982).
Chairperson of the Klaarwater Youth Organisation (1987).
Worked as organiser of Food and Allied Workers Union (FAWU) where he was recruited into the underground work of the ANC as part of Operation Vula (1988).
Elected Secretary of the South African Youth Congress (SAYCO) in Southern Natal (1989).
Chairperson of the Southern Natal Unemployed Workers Union, an initiative of Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) (1989).
Arrested during Apartheid Regime's state of emergency (1989).
Elected the first Branch Secretary of ANC in Klaarwater, KZN (1990).
Became Regional Secretary of the Southern Natal African National Congress Youth League (ANCYL) (1990).
Elected to the NEC of the ANCYL and served in its NWC as Secretary for organization (1994-2004).
Deployed into the ANC National Organising team (2001).
Chairperson of Minerals and Energy Portfolio Committee (2004).
Minister of Safety and Security of the Republic of South Africa from 25 September 2008 - 10 May 2009.


| Disclaimer | Sitemap | FAQ